Call us today! 1 (800) 545-1531

About Us



About Us


Underground Services, Inc., SoftDig®, is one of the oldest, full-service professional Subsurface Utility Engineering (S.U.E.) companies in the United States. We provides a complete range of S.U.E. services throughout the United States, including the innovative SoftDig® non-destructive air/vacuum excavation system for locating underground utilities. Underground Services, Inc. is dedicated solely to subsurface utility engineering, allowing us to commit our full resources to our clients.

The SoftDig® system designed in 1959 by one of the founders of Underground Services, Inc. has revolutionized underground utility location and has been used successfully and safely for many years in the United States, Canada and Europe.

 

 

 

Underground Services, Inc., founded in 1987, currently has an experienced staff that includes:

  • Licensed Professional Engineers
  • Surveyors
  • Trained S.U.E. Technicians
  • Professional & Responsive Support Personnel
  • Surveyors and CAD/GIS Designers


History



Underground Services, Inc. was incorporated in 1987 in West Chester, Pennsylvania (suburban Philadelphia), where our corporate headquarters is still located.  Our roots go back to 1959 when one of the SoftDig founders help develop the SoftDig vacuum system for use in the gas line industry.   We are celebrating our 25th year as a company and providing reliable utility locating and SUE services to our many customers, from private homeowners all the way to multi-national corporations, large universities, and government/military agencies.


SoftDig Management


President & Chief Operating Officer:  Richard Horenburger, P.E., C.M.E.     rhorenburger@softdig.com

Director of Engineering:  William Richardson, P.E., P.L.S.   brichardson@softdig.com

Director of Operations:  Wanda Sheridan   wsheridan@softdig.com

Human Resources:  Heidi Karpa  hkarpa@softdig.com

CAD Manager:  Dave Vanderslice  dvanderslice@softdig.com

New York Manager:  Tim Hoffer thoffer@softdig.com

Texas Manager:  Jim Witten   jwitten@softdig.com

Maryland Manager:  Pat Hall   phall@softdig.com